kstyle.diaryland.com Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

bottoms up!!!
4:23 p.m.

hey y'all...

tomorrow marks 5 years without a drink for me. i don't think i was ever a raging drunk, but it had become a bad habit. it was certainly contributing to a period of very bad anxiety attacks, not to mention feeling like shit almost every morning.

one day i had that moment of clarity that you hear about. i realized it was up to me. i knew that was that, and i was never tempted to start up again. no meetings, etc.

oh, sometimes i think about how nice a drink sounds...gin and tonic, rum and coke, a nice glass of merlot....but i think it's the taste i'm missing...i know one drink would knock me on my ass soooo hard...and i just don't care, or am curious to find out if i COULD have one or two drinks and leave it at that.

i can be around people drinking...

i can be in a bar and have an o'douls and be social...which i know is something that AA says is a huge no-no...but it works for me.

too bad they can't make the non-whoopie wines taste better!

one night about a year into my sobriety i had a 6 pack of o'doul's amber here...one of the bottles was something else, which i hadn't noticed. i had a sip...it tasted very strong. i had another sip...i thought "oh, hell, one bottle won't kill me!"

i thought a bit more...and poured it down the drain.

and one time at work, the boss's wife brought rumcake for us.. i had a piece..omg, it was so strong. a co-worker said she couldn't even taste any booze in it....me, i was getting a buzz. it scared me.

but i mean, right now i have a bottle of wine on the counter just waiting for a CERTAIN SOMEONE to drop by :) and it's not like that bottle is whispering evil things to me, ya know?

i think i'm out of the woods, haha!

so, as picasso said, drink to me, drink to my health, you know i don't drink anymore!

xoxo,

michael

<- previous ~ next ->

navigation