kstyle.diaryland.com Tuesday, Jan. 14, 2003

two cool moms
10:42 p.m.

cox cable called me this afternoon and said that they thought they had fixed my connection problem...they "re-bounced the router" or some such gobbledey-gook...whatever...i HAD noticed that i hadn't gotten disconnected for a few hours, so i guess it's all better.

i have a few interesting things to talk about, but first i'm gonna run up to the store...back in a bit to expand on that intriguing title up there...

____________

ok, two quick mom stories...

my friend, whose parents discovered his d-land site, has a pretty cool mom. he wasn't quite ready to come out to them, but his diary certainly must have opened up their eyes...here's a couple of chat excerpts...

local boy: ...things got interesting a couple days ago.

mkstyle57: do tell...

local boy: my mother was getting pushy. since they didn't know I knew they read my diary...she wanted me to actually tell her myself I guess. So during a drive down to ***** and back, I did. then I told my sister that night too.

mkstyle57: did it go ok???

local boy: yeah. she already knew.

mkstyle57: did she say that?

local boy: yeah.

mkstyle57: did the diary come up?

local boy: no

___ ___ ___ ___

mkstyle57: what about pops?

local boy: nothing up with him...

mkstyle57: you havent told him then...did mom tell him? or verify it..

local boy: probably told him about the talk.

local boy: so now everyone knows. no problems really (yet). it all happened so fast.

mkstyle57: do you feel relieved...?

local boy: kind of.

local boy: I still feel some tension I guess... maybe it's for the best though...less stress maybe.

___ ___ ___ ___

mkstyle57: well congratulations...i didn't think it was gonna happen so soon....so mom's sorta ok with it then?

local boy: yes, she is. said, "do you think that would make me love you any less?"

mkstyle57: YAY MOM!!!!

so the lad is back at school now. he's starting a new diary, but i'm not gonna list it on my faves or anything...it was to easy to find the old one.

we just chatted, and he's doing pretty good...there's a few classes he might not be able to get into, but i'm confident things will work out fine. he's an amazing kid.

_______________

the other story is more of a cool mom/cool daughter situation.

sheila's daughter maggie just turned 14. i haven't seen her in so long, i'm afraid i'm not gonna even recognize her! anyway, and i forget if this was before christmas or before her birthday...but maggie and sheila were in the car and maggie said "mom, i think i want that white stripes cd." sheila was pretty happy about that. maggie's been exposed to a lot of cool music, everything from the beatles to the ramones. in fact the last time i was down at their house, we were all sitting around singing along to "i wanna be sedated"! maggie was 11 at the time...oh, she was a big spice girls fan, and of course the last few years it was all about *nsync...but now she's taking guitar lessons, and she can play the intro to the white stripes' "hotel yorba"...watch your back, avril!

____________________

here's one of the "electronic doodles" i did the other day when my connection was going down all the time...

i used that paint program a lot when the computer was new to me...it's actually kind of relaxing...

ok, that's it for now...michael

<- previous ~ next ->

navigation