kstyle.diaryland.com Saturday, Mar. 15, 2003

new wheels?
11:06 p.m.

just a quickie here...

i am done with my three-day weekend...got steve's package mailed. tomorrow i am mailing a card to l.a. with a check enclosed so i can treat my two boys to dinner...

i test drove a car yesterday...a little dark green 2000 geo metro -


my new baby?

oh, i KNOW it's a gutless wonder, but i think we're in love...we'll see. i've been reading up on the pros and cons of actually owning a geo. i may take it to antich's to have it looked over...it was so zippy on the highway and the backroads!

my loan at work is all paid off, so i can now take out another if i want...see, i can borrow against my 401k and investment money, and it's just taken out of my check every payday. the nice part is that i pay the interest back into my account, so in a way i actually MAKE money...

to get the car, it's either that or use one of those checks the credit card company sent me, and with them, it's only 5.9% on whatever i buy with the checks. but if i do it through work, i don't have to worry about the payment.

the bluebook on the car is $6500...but if i can pay for it outright, i'm sure i can get the price down, i'm just not that comfortable with the whole haggling over a price thing, i dunno how low to go without being insulting...but the guy who went out on the test-drive with me said that business has been slow and they haven't been selling many cars...i'd sure love to get it for $5000...does that sound crazy?

the car is in great shape, and the little baby engine looks brand new. the guy thinks it might have been a rental cuz everything is in such good condition...or is that just a line? i don't wanna get taken, but i also have no desire to go to every car lot in town, i wanna get it over with.

i think i'll call prudential monday and see what a 5-year loan on $6000 dollars would cost me every payday...my old loan was taking $52 out of my check, and i sure didn't feel that at all...

god, the gibson blog is such a joy to read...

ok, gotta get to bed, i work at 6:00 a.m.

take care, michael

<- previous ~ next ->

navigation