kstyle.diaryland.com Saturday, Jun. 21, 2003

the bowienet chronicles...a TRUE story...
12:25 a.m.

adrienne rocks! she helped me with my bowienet problem!

we've been emailing all day!

i'm in black, she's white...

those bowie net people! they just credited my card for the 64.99 they just charged me, but they still owe me that much for getting double-billed in june '02! but i don't have that card anymore, so i guess they're gonna ignore that...so they STILL owe me about 60 bucks, as last year they only refunded me about 6 dollars! i guess i give up! tell me how the site's gone downhill, please....and now i can't get on at all, but they still owe me $$$$$! oh well, live and learn....maybe i'll go download a bunch of his music, that'll show HIM! take care, michael

Michael, you really need to keep emailing them about this! Try [email protected] The only way I was able to make a clean break was to have my card declined when I was ready to leave. Otherwise, they would have kept charging me. Bowienet used to be a really cool and dynamic site filled with people with a variety of interests and Bowie was there ALL THE TIME. He'd pop in for late night chats and respond to many of the messages on the boards. It all started going downhill around the 2000 elections, when everybody go political on the boards, Bowie went into hiding and tech support went down the toilet. Now it's all petty bickering, jabs and really stupid posts, with NO Bowie in sight. To make matters worse, they took away the points prizes so now you have to pay for the site and pay for any stuff you get! Complete bullshit!I'm glad I left and, after using girlstardust's account, don't think I'll ever be going back there. It's really sad since I used to spend the vast majority of my free time on bowienet chatting with Bowie and my friends. It's like going back to the house you grew up in and finding out that the neighborhood's gone ghetto. Terrible. Keep on their asses. They owe you money and the HAVE to pay it back! ~Adrienne

i just wrote to them telling them i'm still owed 65 bucks, bet i won't hear anything for a while...gee, sounds like it was cool back then....i DID post some art in the galleries, and was the weekly selection shown at the top of the page....blah, well, guess i'll just wait and see what happens....ok, byeeee, michael

ha! that address didn't work, it came back. i was expecting that. thanks for posting for me, when i did there was a thing to click so that it would be seen by the moderator...oh well, keep me posted...m

I posted in the help board about it for you. I used to be the queen of the sculpture/other category on b-net. LOL!

I got this PM from techguy about your billing problems: "He can email [email protected]. I looked it up and saw the refund but we dont seem to have any record of the duplicate 2002 charge or the $6 refund. I only saw 1 64.99 in may 2002 and one in may 2003. he should email some sort of proof of these charges to billing or fax it to 212 265 4150. anyways, maybe pass this info along for time being."

Did a little chatting with techguy....and here's the result! Your problem is taken care of! "tell you what... because I can... I will hook your friend up with another refund...I'll take his word for it...spare him having to prove it to billing folk. And if you want an account here..i'll give you a free trial for a couple months. up to you." Does he ROCK or WHAT?!??!?

holy shit!! you did it? i'm getting another refund? oh my god, that's so great! you're going on my faves list, sweetie!

Hey, I got a free trial membership out of the deal, too!And I didn't even have to enter my credit card number! I think Techguy digs my Voodoo dolls!

ok, i'm gonna work on an entry using all these emails, put it up tomorrow, i guess...it's funny, i stopped going to bowienet cuz i just couldn't enjoy it, because this mess wasn't resolved...now i miss it a bit! thanks again, you rock!

Oh no! He had reinstated your account, but I told him you wanted it cancelled! My bad!

OOOH, i'm getting confused, haha!did i get reinstated AND get another refund? cuz now i do kinda want to check it out again, in a way...but if given the choice i'd take the money over access...but both would be really cool! keep me posted..m

You were reinstated for about 2 minutes before I told techguy that you had wanted to cancel. You can always rejoin if you want. they DO take checks!

oh, no, that's cool....but i guess i'll belive it when i actually see the 2 refunds show up....i feel like no one's really in control over there....when i signed up i got 2 copies of a live cd...gave one to rob....they ain't getting it back, either! thanks agian, michael

That's funny. I had to wait over a year after the release of the Live And Well CD to get my copy! And I was a member since year one!

<- previous ~ next ->

navigation