kstyle.diaryland.com Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003

it could happen to anyone...
9:27 p.m.

here's part of a chat i had with the goose last week...

goose: hey

mkstyle57: hi, what's doin?

goose: just came back from a class...45 page paper due next week.

mkstyle57: 45 pages????on what? the history of the world??

goose: lol...it's for my ethnic history of america class

mkstyle57: can you puts lots of pictures in it?

goose: I wish :-P

mkstyle57: god, that sounds horrible....

goose: yeah...college can be a bitch sometimes.

mkstyle57: no doubt...do you pick a certain topic or...?

goose: "Some scholars, like Peggy Pascoe, say that laws against miscegenation (laws prohibiting marriage between white and non-white peoples) boiled down to property and ownership. Recognizing that property and ownership can mean more than just owning land and cattle, Pascoe weaves interesting perspectives on race and gender to her argument. Elaborating on this argument, analyze Ford�s film the Searchers under careful consideration of Pascoe�s assertions. How does this notion of property and ownership tie into Ethan�s rage? How does Pascoe�s argument help explain the relationship between Ethan and Debbie, and Ethan and Martin? Does real land have anything to do with Ethan�s attempt to kill Debbie? How does race (or in this case �whiteness�) as a possession play into the picture? Are there any other forces at work here? Use specific examples from the movie and the article."

goose: have to respond to that

mkstyle57: holy smokes!

goose: yeah

mkstyle57: well a week...that's plenty of time if you do nothing else.

goose: yeah, I'll be doing a lot of work.

goose: but that's fine. I'm up for it.

goose: I think .

my god, is that ridiculous or what? 45 pages!!!

well, he's been staying up late (very late!) working on it...this is from his diary a few days ago...

10:50 AM

BLECH! I feel so sick. Apparently it's from drinking 5-6 double shot starbucks thingies. But I have to stay awake, honest! The paper is going to hell in a large oversize laundry basket. I can't concentrate anymore. This really sucks. I so desperately need a good grade in this class. It's all my fault...damn, I always come back to bite myself in the ass.

3:25 PM

WOO HOO!!! 32 pages, yes yes yes, this is looking within my grasp now! This makes me so happy. Funny stories to come...just had to update. This is going to be such a rambling paper, but I just don't want to get an F.

ok, it sounds like he's gonna make it to the finish line!

and here's some stuff from his entry today...

A 48 hour day

I just slept a straight 14 hours. I was quite exhausted. I made it to 42 pages. I never thought I would be able to do that. The last two days have got to be the worst two of my life or something...right now I have a slight case of asthma, and yesterday, well shit. my stomach hurt all day because of those double shots. The only solid food I ate all day was french toast. The rest of the day I got by on strawberry smoothies and hot chocolate.

But anyway, I had what counted. My paper with cover page and bibliography printed out at 7 pm, with class at 7:15 pm. Oh kill me now, just kill me now. I walk into class and don't see anyone with any papers out...hmmm. When the teacher walks in he says, "You have some papers due." People start pulling out these flimsy little things... "Ha, exactly five pages." I could have fainted right there. I wrote a half page on a paper describing feelings. Hmm, let me dig that out. "Wow. Disappointment, shock, and sleep deprivation have arrived and left me barren. My eyes ache so much that tears almost squeeze out. Sweat is trailing down from my forehead, and I have wasted countless hours of my life, and needlessly lost a night of good sleep. Fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck. i felt such resolution and hope this morning. I have taken a severe beating. Holy shit. Is this life? When I think i can raise myself back from the ashes, I fall back in, deeper than before. Well shit. Now what. Where does one go from here?"

So, the paper was supposed to be 4 to 5 pages, not 45. I talked to the teacher after class, and he said to talk to him next class about getting some extra credit. So it's not a total loss...maybe I'll get an A in that class.

and here's the email i sent him tonight...

oh you poor baby...what a shock that must have been!

you should get an A, extra credit, AND a certificate of honor!

i THOUGHT 45 pages sounded a bit excessive, but....

what do i know?

ok, maybe we'll talk later...m

all that work...i hope he doesn't feel like a fool, cuz he ain't one...he tackled this seemingly insurmountable assignment head-on, and i hope the teacher realizes how much effort went into it...

ok, maybe a little about ME later...

_____________________

midnight

ok, i just had a scary experience with a screensaver from bowienet...i couldn't get it off the screen! nothing would work! i turned the computer off 4 times by pushing the button on the tower (cuz i couldn't shut it off the usual way) and then i called tech support (cox, not bowie) and of course everything started working fine! scary...damn that bowie anyway...the reason he owes me 60 bucks (which i mentioned months ago) is that when i signed up for bowienet, my credit card wouldn't go through so i tried another one...what happened is that i got charged for TWO accounts (120 bucks!). i tried to get it cleared up, and they credited my card for 6 dollars! i gave up after i got this email about a new way of contacting their support area, but i need to try again. i'm hoping that they will give me another year...it's a fun site, even though i don't go there that often. i had some art on display in one of the members' galleries, that was cool. oh, and when i signed up, they sent me TWO copies of this live double cd...one for each account...i gave one to rob.

and the funny thing is, the screensaver is called "virus", so, haha, the joke was on me i guess.

____________________

i just found a new diary...this gal is funny! at times she reminds me of gadfly, and i can't give a better recommendation than THAT! check her out HERE, ok?

<- previous ~ next ->

navigation